Ravinder Raina to Vote Non-BJP Candidate - JK REVOLUTION
Friday, June 14, 2024

Ravinder Raina to Vote Non-BJP Candidate

0 comment

SRINAGAR: Jammu and Kashmir, BJP chief Ravinder Raina will miss voting for his party in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections as the party has not fielded any candidate from his hometown, which falls in the Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary constituency.

The reshaped Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat will go to polls on May 7 in the third phase of general elections in Jammu and Kashmir. The BJP has also not put up any candidate from Srinagar and Baramulla constituencies, where polling will be held on May 13 and May 20 respectively. Facing criticism over not fielding candidates on the three Lok Sabha seats in Kashmir, Raina said decisions are made to achieve a goal and the BJP is supporting parties.

“We were desirous of fighting the elections from all the three Lok Sabha seats in Kashmir on our own strength. But sometimes different decisions are made to achieve a goal by setting aside personal interests,” Daily Excelsior Raina quoted as saying.

“We are supporting those parties which are patriotic, working for betterment of Kashmir, strengthening peace and brotherhood and are eager to serve the society,” Raina had said. He said they will soon meet BJP national president J P Nadda and other Central leaders to discuss the strategy and will reveal the names of such parties or candidates who the party workers and supporters can support and vote for.

In the absence of the party candidate, Raina who hails from Nowshera area of Rajouri, will exercise his democratic right in favour of a non-BJP candidate in accordance with the party’s strategy. PDP president and former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti and National Conference leader Mian Altaf are in direct contest from the constituency.

Prominent among 19 candidates in the fray include Mohammad Saleem Parray of Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) and JK Apni Party leader Zafar Iqbal Khan Manhas.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment